Do you need EndNote Basic?
EndNote Basic provides the ability to save and organize citations as well as format them. If you don't need long term storage of citations, if you don't think you'll reuse them, or if you just need a quick formatted citation in a major style, you might want to try one of these other options.
Many databases provide citations formatting in MLA and APA. Look for buttons and links that say something like, "Cite Now" or "How to Cite". Some databases will have a citation at the bottom of the page.
In EBSCO databases, the button looks like a page:
Warning: Always double check automated formatting against the rules and examples provided in style manuals and guides. Be especially careful of capitalization, proper names, and dates.
You can also try these web services:
- Landmark Citation MachineThe Citation Machine will do APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian style citations for the most common types of sources: books, book chapters, articles, webpages, images, videos, etc. Both in-text (parenthetical) references and the full citation for the bibliography are produced and ready for copying and pasting into your document.
- NoodleBib ExpressFree citation formatting from the makers of NoodleTools. NoodleBib Express does MLA, APA, and Chicago, and has options for dozens of types of sources, from books and articles to patents, letters, and TV programs.
Subject Specific Style Guides
Be sure to check with your professor, advisor, or editor before using a particular style.
Scientific style and format : the CSE manual (7th ed)Call Number: REF T11 .S386 2006 (ask at Ref. Desk)The most common style for the sciences, from the Council of Scientific Editors.
The ACS style guide (3rd ed)Call Number: REF QD8.5 .A25 2006The preferred publication guide for chemistry, from the American Chemical Society.
AMA manual of styleCall Number: REF R119 .A533 2007 (on Ref. shelves)American Medical Association manual of style guide for authors and editors.
Free Account-based services
If you do want to save your citations, you might want to try one of these free services:
- MendeleyMendeley is a combination web/software citation manager and social networking platform. Save, organize, and format your own collection, and see what others have saved.
- ZoteroIf you use the Firefox web browser, you might want to try Zotero - a browser based citation managing Firefox extension. Both Firefox and Zotero can be run from a USB drive.
- CiteULikeWeb-based citation manager sponsored by publisher Springer, CiteULike works especially well with publishers' websites. CiteULike provides researcher-based social networking, including tags, groups, and searching. Also stores personal PDF's.
Personal accounts
You can also get a personal subscription to Refworks, a personal copy of the EndNote software, or a individual/family subscription to NoodleBib.
- NoodleBib subscriptionOften recommended for school-aged children.
Useful Website
- OWL at PurdueThe Online Writing Lab at Purdue University has the most referenced online APA and MLA guides on the web.
Style Guides in the Library
These are the most common styles used at Bloomsburg University. Be sure to check with your professor, advisor, or editor before using a particular style.
MLA HandbookCall Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009 (ask at Ref. Desk)The official MLA Handbook, with everything you need to produce or publish a document using MLA Style.
Publication manual of the American Psychological AssociationCall Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 (ask at Ref. Desk)The latest edition (6th) of the APA Manual, describing every aspect of formatting a document in APA Style.
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers by Call Number: REF LB2369 .T8 2007 (ask at Ref. Desk)The most recent edition of the original student's guide to formatting papers by Kate Turabian
The Chicago manual of style (17th ed)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017 Permanent Reserve 1st FloorChicago style is the standard for history and related fields.
